London (UK) in the snow

In early February I was in London for an aunt’s funeral.  While there I was essentially trapped in my hotel room by less than a foot of snow!   First the subway stopped running and then to my amazement the buses stopped.  As you can see from the attached photos, the roads basically stayed clear.  I was embarrassed for all of them about how this brought the city to its knees.  Eventually I went for a walk around the neighbourhood I was in and about two-thirds of the shops and restraurants, etc. were closed because staff hadn’t made it to work.  Unbelievable.

Published in: on May 9, 2009 at 4:35 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://jeaton23.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/london-uk-in-the-snow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi John,

    Noticed your photo while browsing through the Lib 2.0 blogs.

    I am familiar with this street as I born in London and lived in Fulham as a child.

    Rarely saw snow until emigrating to Canada in 1957 – then had culture shock after my first winter! Nearly froze to death while walking several blocks to school in River Heights.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

